About us



07732 951024

click to email the MUSICALDIRECTOR



(01761) 472487

click to email the CHAIRMAN



(01761) 414070

click to email the SECRETARY

Please contact the Chairman or

Musical Director with any Concert enquiries

Mendip Male Voice Choir​

Led and supported by professional musicians with many years of choral and vocal experience.



















Jamie Knights

Musical Director

Jamie was a scholar at Wells Cathedral School and gained a first class BA Honours Music degree at Bath Spa University.  Jamie is a widely respected musician, having worked with many groups in the local area, including Curtain Up, City of Bath Bach Choir and Bath Opera.  He also spent four years directing the Glastonbury Male Voice Choir.  He is currently a Music Teacher and Musician-in-Residence at Kingswood School in Bath.

Phillip Evry


Phil joined us at the start of January 2015 and quickly established himself as one of the team. He received his musical education at the Royal Academy of Music and retired as Deputy Director of Music at the Arts Educational School, Tring. Phillip comes to us from the Bath Male Choir where he was accompanist from 2006 until 2014.

Phil Evry MMVC Accompanist

Hannah Drury

Resident Soloist

Hannah graduated from Bath Spa University with a first class honours degree in Music, and then studied to gain a Diploma (DipABRSM) in singing under her singing teacher, Judy Davis.  Hannah also teaches singing and has taken many solo roles in Bath Opera.

We welcome applications from other professional musicians who would be interested in joining us during a performance as a Guest Soloist. Please get in touch with the Musical Director - musicaldirector@mendipmen.co.uk

The Council


The Mendip Male Voice Choir have a council who are elected every year at our AGM and work hard to support the choir and develop its potential. The current council are:


Chairman - Peter Bradshaw

Vice Chairman - Richard Luscombe

Secretary - Eric Baldwin

Assistant Secretary - John Kendall

Membership Secretary - Nick Furzland

Concert Bookings Secretary - Mike Downing

Treasurer - Phil Gait

Publicity - Simon Martin

Stage Manager - Martin Dymond

Safeguarding & Child Protection Officer - Fred Lacey

Please use the 'Contact' page to get in touch.


Section Leaders

These are members of the choir from each voice section who liaise with other singers from their section.

First Tenor Section Leader - David Phillips

First Tenor Section Deputy Leader - Rob Thain


Second Tenor Section Leader - Richard Luscombe

Second Tenor Section Deputy Leader - Jim Attwood


Baritone Section Leader - Bryan Hussey

Baritone Section Deputy Leader - John Kendall


Bass Section Leaders - Brian Griffiths

Bass Section Deputy Leader - Robert Pemberton

The Choir is delighted to acknowledge the support of the following Individuals and organisations:

Honorary President

Brian Attwood

Vice Presidents

Bryan Pulsford

Geoff Pulsford

Terry Phillips


Choir Patrons

Michael Eavis - CBE

Paul Myers - Midsomer Norton Councillor

Jacob Rees-Mogg - MP

Choir Members

First Tenor

David Phillips

Leigh Butler

Robin Campbell

Roland Clarke

John Daintith

Jon Lewis

George Lippiatt

Les Martindale

Andy Nicholls

Ralph Pawley

Richard Rawlings

John Taylor

Rob Thain

Ken Webster


Second Tenor

Richard Luscombe

Jim Attwood

George Beechener

John Hack

Jerry Hann

Bryn Hawkins

Fred Lacey

Danny Lacey-Ford

Alan March

Simon Martin

Michael McCarthy

Richard Munden

Geoff Pulsford

John Scarterfield

Alec Short

David Sperritt

Michael Thomas

Colin Turner

Phil Turner



Bryan Hussey

Eric Baldwin

David Brown

John Browning

Rob France

Nick Furzland

Phillip Gait

Andy Green

John Kendall

Ron Long

Patrick McDermot

Ray Parker

Terry Porter

 Jeremy Smith

Pete Young



Brian Griffiths

Colin Bowden

Ken Bowen

Peter Bradshaw

Alan Burbridge

Mike Downing

Martin Dymond

Martin Greene

Greg Harris

Geoffrey Lane

Stephen Manning

Robert Pemberton

Martin Slocombe